Wednesday, 23 May 2012

15 days left to nominate for the Kenton Miller Award

Deadline for nominations is 8 June 2012

Innovation and dedication are keys to progress in our national parks and protected areas’ conservation. The Kenton Miller award celebrates individuals who are taking bold steps in protecting these most valued resources by recognizing their invaluable work with a 5,000 USD grant and accompanying citation.

The IUCN World Conservation Congress (IUCN WCC) in Jeju, Korea will be the stage for the 5th award in this series. WCPA members and individuals working in protected areas are eligible to nominate colleagues or contacts working in protected area management, associated education or research, who have demonstrated an innovative approach with global impact in communications, planning and managing, finance and economics, assessment, monitoring and evaluating, learning and capacity building, and/or governance.

Previous Miller Award laureates include Dr Heliodoro Sanchez in 2007 for his approach to restoring mangrove forests, Dr Marc Hockings in 2008 for his contribution to management effectiveness of protected areas, and Dr Ernesto Enkerlin Hoeflich in 2009 for his outstanding achievements and innovations in wilderness area establishment. The 2011 honorees, Sue Stolton and Nigel Dudley were recognized for their instrumental role in highlighting how important protected areas are to people.

For more information, or to advance a nomination for 2012, please visit the Award website or contact Delwyn Dupuis.

Nomination form